Can You Tell: a side story

This assignment has been difficult to be honest. I struggle to approach strangers and find a way for them to open up and tell their story. To finish this assignment I had to get out of my comfort zone and approach someone I didn’t know and for a subject that is controversial. I reached out to a young woman I’ve known about since I was a child, but I’ve never spoken to her. I’ve seen that she stands for legalization and decided to ask her for an interview and a photoshoot.

Stef1
Steffanie speaks about her aspiration to be an actress and how people are often judged before being understood. Photo by Vanessa Chavez

She invited me over to her home and I planned on only staying for less than an hour. I started asking her the questions I had prepared and it led to a full on conversation. I appreciated her interview because for the first time I felt like a true photojournalist. Steffanie told me about her thoughts and her family. She did not hesitate when I raised the camera to my face. At the end of the night I felt accomplished to have overcome my fear of strangers. I’m grateful to Steffanie and this class to have pushed me out of my comfort zone.

Stef2
Steffanie and her boyfriend, Alexis, speak about their plans for the evening.
Leave a Reply

